Recreational Therapist

Recreational Therapists provide a treatment service designed to restore, remediate, and rehabilitate a person's functioning and independence in life activities, promote health and wellness as well as reduce or eliminate the activity limitations and restrictions to participation in life situations caused by an illness or disabling condition.

Legislation

Statutes: NH RSA 326-J and 328-F Administrative Rules: Chapters Ahp 100-300 and Rec 100-500

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Be of good moral character
- Successfully complete an academic program with a baccalaureate degree or higher from an accredited college or university with a major in therapeutic recreation or a major in recreation or leisure with an option in therapeutic recreation
- Successfully complete a field experience as defined by the National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC) under the supervision of a Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist (CTRS) approved by the educational institution where the applicant has met academic requirements
- Successfully pass an examination administered by the NCTRC
- The board may issue a license to recreational therapists who were certified by the NCTRC prior to July 1, 2007, and who hold an active CTRS credential
- Military experience shall not be considered when determining whether an applicant meets the educational requirements for licensure.
- Must complete a criminal background check

Examination

Written national certification exam required

Continuing Education

Completion of 30 hours of professional education is required biennially for license renewal

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

82

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Recreational Therapy Governing Board Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 7 Eagle Square Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone(603) 271-2152fax(603) 271-6702web<https://www.oplc.nh.gov/recreational-therapy-
governing-board>contactBoard Administratore-mailcustomersupport@oplc.nh.gov

Application\$60.00Initial licensure fee\$110.00Biennial renewal\$110.00License reinstatement\$220.00Licenses expire on December 31st of each even-numbered year

Fees

O*Net Codes

29-1125.00 Recreational Therapists

Additional Information Sources

National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification <www.nctrc.org>

Related Training

Therapeutic Recreation/Recreational Therapy