Real Estate Broker

Real Estate Brokers act for others for a commission or for other compensation to sell, exchange, purchase, rent, or lease real estate. Real Estate Principal Brokers are individual brokers, including brokers who are designated by a corporation, partnership, or association, whom the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission holds responsible for the actions of licensees who are assigned to such individual brokers. Real Estate Managing Brokers are responsible for managing a branch office, including the supervision of all licensees. Real Estate Associate Brokers are licensed brokers who are employed by or under contract to operate under the supervision of a principal broker and/or managing broker.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 331-A

Administrative Rules: Chapter Rea 100 - 700

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must show proof of completion of 60 hours of approved study which shall be completed prior to the date of examination
- Have been employed by an active principal broker full-time for at least one year within
 - five years of the date of application; or 2,000 part-time hours as a licensed salesperson in New Hampshire within five years of the date of application; or show proof of equivalent experience to the Commission
- Furnish evidence of good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
- Demonstrate no record of unprofessional conduct
- Principal Brokers and Managing Brokers must file a surety bond with the Commission to be held in accordance with RSA 331-A:14
- Submit evidence acceptable to the Commission of at least six separate real estate transactions in which the
 applicant was actively involved and was compensated or proves to the Commission that the applicant has
 equivalent experience
- Comply with the criminal records check under RSA 331-A:10-a

Examination

Computer-based examination required — given weekly, on a Monday through Friday schedule and on Saturdays at alternating locations

Continuing Education

Must attend accredited continuing education courses consisting of three core hours plus twelve hours of electives prior to license renewal

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Real Estate Commission

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/nh-real-estate-commission>

contact Bobbie Mayo, Board Administrator e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

| _ | | | |
|---|---|---|---|
| F | Δ | Δ | c |

| Examination registration fee | |
|------------------------------|--|
| Original license | |
| Biennial renewal | |

Real Estate Broker (continued)

Reciprocity

Permitted with Vermont, Massachusetts, and Georgia. Applicant must pass only the state law portion of the New Hampshire licensing examination.

Maine applicants must pass the state and national portions of the examination

Active Licenses

3,476

Related Training

Real Estate

O*Net Codes

41-9021.00

Real Estate Brokers

Additional Information Sources

PSI Services, Inc. (exam administrator) https://candidate.psiexams.com