Public Adjuster

Any individual who directly or indirectly solicits from the insured or his representatives the authority to act for the insured to settle or negotiate settlement or appraisal of a loss under a fire insurance or homeowner's policy and who so acts for a fee or compensation from a person other than an insurer.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 402-D

Administrative Rules: Chapter Ins 1300

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Submit license application and appropriate fees
- Register, take, and pass the appropriate license examination
- Be trustworthy and financially responsible, and have a good personal and business reputation
- Post bond of \$20,000
- Be a resident of this state or another state granting similar licenses to residents of this state
- Five years minimum experience in the insurance business, involved in sales, underwriting, or claims
- Must maintain an office in this state with public access during regular business hours

Examination

Written examination required. Examinations are administered for the New Hampshire Insurance Department by Prometric. A separate examination fee is payable to Prometric. Examinations may not be scheduled until the registration process is complete. Registration forms are available at the Department's web site. Non-residents must take the New Hampshire examination.

Continuing Education

Fifteen hours of continuing education are required for renewal including three hours of ethics

Reciprocity

Non-residents permitted, with evidence of being licensed in resident state

Regulatory Agency

Licensing Division

New Hampshire Insurance Department 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14 Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-0203 fax (603) 271-7029

web <www.nh.gov/insurance/producers/>
contact Joan LaCourse, Licensing Supervisor
e-mail producerquestions@ins.nh.gov

Fees

Resident license
Biennial renewal
Examination
Licenses expire on the second October 1st after issuance

O*Net Codes

13-1031.00 Insurance Adjusters, Examiners, and Investigators

Additional Information Sources

Prometric

<www.prometric.com/NewHampshire/insurance>

Active Licenses

108

Related Training

Insurance