Occupational Therapist

Occupational Therapists apply the therapeutic use of purposeful and meaningful occupations or goal-directed activities to evaluate and treat individuals who have a disease or disorder, impairment, activity limitation, or participation restriction which interferes with their ability to function independently in daily life roles, and to promote health and wellness. Occupational therapy services may include evaluation and remediation of the client as well as educating the client, family, and caregiver about techniques to enhance daily activities.

Legislation

Statutes: NH RSA 326-C and 328-F Administrative Rules: Chapters Ahp 100-300

and Occ 100-500

Licensure Requirements

- · Must be at least 17 years of age
- Be of good moral character
- Must complete an academic program in occupational therapy accredited by the American Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) or its successor organization

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Occupational Therapy Governing Board

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152 fax (603) 271-6702

web https://www.oplc.nh.gov/occupational-therapy-

governing-board> contact Board Administrator

e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

- Complete a minimum of six months of supervised fieldwork experience
- Applicants for Certification for the use of Physical Agent Modalities (PAMs) who are not currently licensed in New Hampshire as a Physical Therapist must also either hold a currently valid certificate issued by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission or complete professional education consisting of six hours in ultrasound modalities and 15 hours relating to electrical stimulation modalities; and demonstrate competencies in a supervised clinical application (SCA)
- Military experience shall not be considered when determining whether an applicant meets the educational requirements for licensure
- Must complete a criminal background check

Examination

Written national certification exam required

Continuing Education

Completion of 24 hours of professional education is required biennially for license renewal. At least half of the contact hours shall relate directly to the clinical application of occupational therapy skills.

Reciprocity

None, but there is endorsement by examination

Fees

| Application |
|--|
| Initial licensure fee |
| Biennial renewal |
| License reinstatement |
| Licenses expire on December 31 of each odd-numbered year |

O*Net Codes

29-1122.00 Occupational Therapists

Occupational Therapist (continued)

Active Licenses

1,803

Related Training

Occupational Therapy/Therapist

Additional Information Sources

American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc. <www.aota.org>

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) www.nbcot.org

Hand Therapy Certification Commission (HTCC) <www.htcc.org>