Occupational Therapist Assistant

Occupational Therapists assist in providing occupational therapy under the supervision of an occupational therapist. They may assist in rehabilitating patients in hospitals and similar institutions and may assist in the evaluation of daily living skills and capacities of clients to determine extent of abilities and limitations.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 326-C and 328-F

Administrative Rules: Chapters Ahp 100-300

and Occ 100-500

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 17 years of age
- · Be of good moral character
- Must complete an academic program in occupational therapy accredited by the American Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) or its successor organization

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Occupational Therapy Governing Board

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152 fax (603) 271-6702

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/occupational-therapy-governing-

board/>

contact Board Administrator

e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

- Complete a minimum of two months of supervised fieldwork experience
- Applicants for Certification for the use of Physical Agent Modalities (PAMs) who are not currently licensed in New Hampshire as a Physical Therapist Assistant must also either hold a currently valid certificate issued by the Hand Therapy Certification Commission or complete professional education consisting of six hours in ultrasound modalities and 15 hours relating to electrical stimulation modalities; and demonstrate competencies in a supervised clinical application (SCA)
- Military experience shall not be considered when determining whether an applicant meets the educational requirements for licensure

Examination

Written national certification exam required

Continuing Education

Completion of 24 hours of professional education is required biennially for license renewal. At least half of the contact hours shall relate directly to the clinical application of occupational therapy skills.

Reciprocity

Not permitted

rees

Application	
Initial licensure fee	
Biennial renewal	
License reinstatement	
Licenses expire on December 31 of each odd-numbered year	

O*Net Codes

31-2011.00 Occupational Therapist Assistants

Occupational Therapist Assistant (continued)

Active Licenses

332

Related Training

Occupational Therapist Assistant

Additional Information Sources

American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc. www.aota.org

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) www.nbcot.org

Hand Therapy Certification Commission (HTCC) <www.htcc.org>