Marriage and Family Therapist

Provide individual, marital, and family counseling to adults and children. Help clients identify personal and interactive problems to achieve personal, marital, and family development and adjustment.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 330-A:21

Administrative Rules: Chapter Mhp 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements

- Master's degree or Doctorate in marriage and family therapy from an accredited program
- Pass national exam of the Association for Marriage and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards
- Complete at least a one-year practicum/ internship supervised by an AAMFT approved supervisor prior to the completion of the master's degree. This experience shall total a minimum of 300 hours of face-to-face client contact hours with individuals, couples, and families for the purpose of assessment, diagnosis and treatment. At least half of these client contact hours shall have been completed with couples and families.
- Must complete a criminal background check

Examination

Applicants for licensure must pass the national examination in marital and family therapy distributed by the American Association of Marital and Family Regulatory Boards.

Continuing Education

Forty continuing education hours (CEUs) every two years, and 40 hours of collaboration every two years

Active Licenses

164

Related Training

Marriage and Family Therapy/Counseling

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2702

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/board-mental-health-practice>

contact Board Administrator

e-mail mentalhealth@oplc.nh.gov

Fees

License application review \$150.00
Approved license application fee \$135.00
Biennial renewal \$270.00
Inactive license (one year) \$67.50
License reinstatement \$300.00

O*Net Codes

21-1013.00 Marriage and Family Therapists

Additional Information Sources

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) <www.aamft.org>

Reciprocity

While the Board does not offer reciprocity licenses, a license can be obtained through "portability," or Fast Track Licensing, allowing someone licensed in another state for five or more years to obtain a license in New Hampshire.