Lightning Protection Dealer

Sell, offer for sale, or install material used for the protection of buildings from damage by lightning. Agents may sell or install lightning rods, and are employees of a licensed dealer. All persons designing, installing, testing, modifying, repairing or maintaining lightning protection equipment must comply with the requirements of National Fire Protection Association 780, 2008 edition, and must be in accordance with the state fire code.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 323

Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 6017

Licensure Requirements

- · Submit application
- Certification of knowledge and intent to comply with state law and fire code
- File bond in the sum of \$5,000
 with the commissioner of safety to
 guarantee all materials and their
 installation have the approval of the
 Underwriters' Laboratories, Inc.

Examination

Not required

Continuing Education

Not required

Reciprocity

Not specified

Active Licenses

Not provided

Related Training

Not provided

Regulatory Agency

Office of the State Fire Marshal

New Hampshire Department of Safety

33 Hazen Drive

Concord, New Hampshire 03305

phone (603) 223-4289 fax (603) 223-4295

web <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/firesafety/

administration/lightningrod/>

e-mail fmo@dos.nh.gov

Fees

Dealer application							\$50.00
Agent application fee per agent							\$10.00
Licenses expire annually							

O*Net Codes

41-9099.00 Sales and Related Workers, All Other

Additional Information Sources

National Fire Protection Association <www.nfpa.org>