# Heating Equipment Technician

Heating Equipment Technicians install, service, or repair residential or non-residential heating equipment systems, water heating systems, or appliances using heating oil.

Note: Certification of individuals is voluntary and not required by law

# Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 153:16-b

Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-Mec 100-

500

# **Certification Requirements**

- Heating Equipment Installation Certificate, Heating Oil Endorsement
  - Provide a signed affidavit by the employer documenting 4,000 hours of appropriate field experience
  - 2. One of the following valid certificates:

# **Regulatory Agency**

## **New Hampshire Mechanical Safety and Licensing Board**

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152

web <a href="https://www.oplc.nh.gov/mechanical-safety-and-">https://www.oplc.nh.gov/mechanical-safety-and-</a>

licensing-board>

contact Christine Horne
e-mail christine.m.horne@oplc.nh.gov

- ◆ National Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Silver Certificate
- National Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Gold Certificate
- ◆ North American Technician Excellence (NATE) modules including both Oil Heating Installation and Oil Heating Service Technician
- Heating Equipment Service Technician Certificate, Heating Oil Endorsement
  - 1. Provide a signed affidavit by the employer documenting 4,000 hours of appropriate field experience
  - 2. One of the following valid certificates:
    - National Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Silver Certificate
    - National Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Gold Certificate
    - North American Technician Excellence (NATE) modules including both Oil Heating Installation and Oil Heating Service Technician
- · Submit application and pay fee

### **Examination**

As required for NORA or NATE certification

### **Continuing Education**

As required for NORA or NATE certification

#### Fees

Initial certificate
Renewal certificate
Late renewal fee (31 days and over) \$15.00
All certificates expire on the last day of the month, two years
from the date of issuance

# Heating Equipment Technician (continued)

# Reciprocity

A certificate may be issued to an applicant who presents evidence of being authorized to perform these duties by another state, jurisdiction, or country that maintains professional standards equivalent to or higher than those of this state. Applicants must submit an application form, documentation of 4,000 hours of field experience, copies of the certificate issued by another state, jurisdiction, or country, and documentation of professional standards required by the other state, jurisdiction, or country, and pay the applicable licensing fee.

# **Active Licenses**

500

# **Related Training**

Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation, and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/ Technician

## O\*Net Codes

49-9021.01

Heating and Air Conditioning Mechanics and Installers

## **Additional Information Sources**

National Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) <www.nora-oilheat.org>

North American Technician Excellence (NATE) <www.natex.org>