Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2021

<u>Fir</u>efighter

Control and extinguish fires, protect life and property, and maintain equipment as volunteers or paid employees of city, township, state, or federal government. Required certification applies to only full-time career firefighters who are employed as a member of a fire department. There are no state training or certification requirements for call and volunteer firefighters.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 21-P:12-a Administrative Rules: Chapter Fire 100 - 900

Certification Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be of good character
- High school diploma or equivalent
- Must pass medical and physical fitness requirements
- Must complete a criminal background check no felony convictions
- Must pass an oral interview
- Complete a program of fire training within the first year of hire as a career firefighter

Examination

• Physical agility test

Continuing Education

Not required

Reciprocity

Permitted, with individual review of out-of-state credentials

Active Licenses

Firefighters are not licensed, but full-time career firefighters are certified within the first year of hire. There are approximately 1,400 career firefighters in New Hampshire.

Related Training

Fire Science/Firefighting

Regulatory Agency

Bureau of Fire Training and Administration Division of Fire Standards and Training and Emergency Medical Services New Hampshire Department of Safety 33 Hazen Drive Concord, New Hampshire 03305

Physical Location: 98 Smokey Bear Boulevard Concord, New Hampshire

phone (603) 223-4200
fax (603) 271-1091
web <https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/fstems/>
contact Jeffrey Phillips, Assistant Director
e-mail jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Fees

Firefighter I and II Certification \$5,565.00

O*Net Codes

33-2011.01 Municipal Firefighters

Additional Information Sources

National Volunteer Fire Council <www.nvfc.org>

US Fire Administration <www.usfa.fema.gov>