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Certification Requirements
•	 Bachelor’s degree or higher in any field

•	 One of the following:

1.	 Core training taken within the three years 
preceding the date of application which 
includes: 

	º At least 48 hours of mediation training, 
including at least 24 hours of core 
mediation training and given by a New Hampshire certified program or a family mediator training program 
in another state, provided the trainers are Advanced Practitioner/Educator members of the Association for 
Conflict Resolution

	º At least 16 hours of mediation training specific to New Hampshire and at least eight hours of domestic 
violence training given by a currently certified New Hampshire family mediator training program

2.	 Core training taken more than three years preceding the date of application which includes at least 48 hours 
of core mediation training, including 24 hours of core mediation, 16 hours of mediation training specific to 
New Hampshire and eight hours of domestic violence training given by a New Hampshire certified family 
mediator training program plus at least 12 hours of Family Mediator Certification Board approved continuing 
education taken within one year of the date of the application and including at least three hours focusing on 
each of the following topics:  recent changes in law and procedure in matters related to divorce and parental 
rights and responsibilities, ethics for mediators, domestic violence, and mediation skills

•	 Completion of a 20 hour internship with certified family mediators who qualify as an internship supervisor and/or 
with mediators approved by the Association for Conflict Resolution as an advanced practitioner/advanced educator 
member who will then submit intern evaluations and letters of recommendation directly to the Board. (Note: 
length of internship is reduced to ten hours for family lawyers or therapists who have practiced for at least seven 
years.)

•	 Submission of a completed application

•	 Submission of a total of three letters of recommendation from internship supervisors, core training providers or 
people who have worked with applicant during the internship attesting to the applicant’s honesty and competence 
as a mediator

Examination
Not required

Family mediators are impartial third persons who, with the consent of the parties to divorce or other parental rights 
and responsibilities matters, assist and enable the parties to work together to reach a mutually satisfactory settlement 
of the issues in a dispute.

Legislation
Statute: NH RSA 328-C
Administrative Rules: Chapter Fam 100 - 700

New Hampshire Family Mediator Certification Board 
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
7 Eagle Square
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone 	 (603) 271-2152
fax	 (603) 271-7928
web	 <https://www.oplc.nh.gov/family-mediator-

certification-board>
contact	 Board Administrator
e-mail	 familymediators@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency
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Continuing Education
At least 24 hours of Board-approved 
continuing education is required during 
each three-year certification period. At 
least 16 hours must be obtained through 
attendance at live presentations. 
Included must be at least four hours in 
mediation skills and three hours on each 
of the following topics: recent changes 
in law and procedure in matters related 
to divorce and parental rights and 
responsibilities, ethics for mediators, 
and domestic violence. Those who serve 
as intern supervisors and those who 
present Board-approved continuing 
education courses are eligible for 
additional credit hours. 

Reciprocity
Not permitted

Active Licenses
57

Related Training
Dispute Resolution; Law

Association for Conflict Resolution
<www.acrnet.org>

New Hampshire Conflict Resolution Association
<www.nhcra.org>

Association of Family and Conciliation Courts
<www.afccnet.org>

Additional Information Sources

Certification application  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   $300.00
Certification renewal  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   $300.00
Reinstatement fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .                      $400.00
Family Mediator Training Program certification  .   .   .   .   $900.00
Family Mediator Training Program certification 
renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .                           $900.00
Certifications must be renewed every three years

Fees

23-1022.00 	 Arbitrators, Mediators, and Conciliators

O*Net Codes
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http://www.acrnet.org
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