# **Dental Hygienist**

Provides educational, clinical, and therapeutic services supporting total health through the promotion of optimal oral health. Responsible for providing treatment that helps to prevent oral disease, including cavities and periodontal disease. This professional is especially knowledgeable about the preventive aspects of dental disease and helps educate patients to improve oral health. They may work in settings such as private dental offices and clinics, public health agencies, hospitals, nursing homes, private industry, or serve as civilian employees of the military.

# Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 317-A:7 and NH RSA 317-A:21-c Administrative Rules: Chapter Den 100 - 500

## **Licensure Requirements**

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be of good professional character
- High school graduate
- Complete an educational dental hygiene program of at least two years that is recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)
- Must complete a criminal background check

Certified Public Health Dental Hygienists

- Must have education and training of:
  - A Bachelor's degree in dental hygiene, with a minimum of 6 hours in community health; or
  - Have obtained a Master's degree in public health; or
  - Be a registered Dental Hygienist who has successfully completed courses in caries stabilization, evidence based dentistry, infection control in public health settings,
    - medical management in public health dental settings and management of medical records. See Den 302.08 for specific requirements.
- Must have 3,200 hours practice as a dental hygienist, 1,600 hours of which shall be within the two years prior to certification
- Must have qualified in dental sealants pursuant to Den 302.05 if similar training was not received as part
  of the dental hygiene school curriculum.

# **Examination**

Must pass national and regional examinations acceptable to the Board

## **Continuing Education**

Twenty continuing education units (CEUs) every two years with 15 CEUs in clinical dental hygiene care, including two CEUs in infection control, and successful completion of a basic life support course for health care providers (BLS-HCP), which has a hands-on component.

# **Regulatory Agency**

# **New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners**

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301-2412

phone (603) 271-2152 fax (603) 271-6702

web <a href="https://www.oplc.nh.gov/board-dental-examiners">https://www.oplc.nh.gov/board-dental-examiners</a>

contact Board Administrator

e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

#### **Fees**

| Application and examination  | 00 |
|--|----|
| Reinstatement fee for lapsed CPHDH certification \$25.0 Professional healthcare program fee \$16.0 | 00 |

# Dental Hygienist (continued)

# Reciprocity

Endorsement certification shall be considered for any person holding a current, unsuspended, unrestricted license to practice dental hygiene in another state and who has practiced clinical dental hygiene in one or more states for not less than three years immediately prior to submitting the application, and deposits the required credentials with the Board.

### **Active Licenses**

1,497 Dental Hygienist and 53 Certified Public Health Dental Hygienists (CPHDH)

# **Related Training**

Dental Hygiene/Hygienist

## O\*Net Codes

29-2021.00 Dental Hygienists

## **Additional Information Sources**

American Dental Association <a href="https://www.ada.org">www.ada.org</a>>

The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments <www.cdcaexams.org>