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Cosmetologist

Regulatory Agency

Help people look att racti ve by giving shampoos, cutti  ng and styling hair, and giving advice on hair care. Straighten, 
curl, bleach, or dye hair. Give manicures and facials, advise on the use of makeup, and clean and style wigs and 
hairpieces. Make appointments and keep records of products used by their regular customers. Work in shops with 
manicurists and estheti cians. Those who run their own shops hire and supervise workers, keep business records, and 
order supplies.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 313-A:11
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Bar 100 - 500 New Hampshire Offi  ce of Professional 

Licensure and Certi fi cati on 
Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Estheti cs
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-3608
fax (603) 271-8889
web <www.nh.gov/cosmet/>
contact Kathryn Wantuck, Executi ve Director
e-mail Not provided

Fees

O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

Apprenti ce registrati on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00
Biennial apprenti ce renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $85.00
Examinati on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $184.00
Biennial renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $40.00
Licenses expire on the last day of in the licensee’s birth month 
in the even year next succeeding its date of issuance

39-5012.00  Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists

DL Roope Administrati ons Inc. (exam administrator)
<dlroope.com>

Nati onal-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology
<www.nictesti ng.org>

Licensure Requirements
• Must be of good professional character

• Complete high school or its equivalent

• Receive training of a minimum of 
1,500 hours in a school of cosmetology 
approved by the Board; or a minimum 
of 3,000 hours distributed over a period 
of at least 18 months under a licensed 
cosmetologist

• Pass an examinati on conducted by the 
Board

• Pay a fee established by the Board

Reciprocity
Permitt ed if the other state’s licensing 
requirements are substanti ally equivalent 
to or higher than those of New Hampshire

Acti ve Licenses
10,000

Related Training
Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General; 
Make-Up Arti st/Specialist; Hair Styling/
Stylist and Hair Design; Facial Treatment 
Specialist/Facialist; Salon/Beauty Salon 
Management

Examinati on
Writt en and practi cal examinati ons required

Conti nuing Educati on
Not required


