Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetics, or Manicurist Instructor

Teach students in public or private schools. Organize programs of practical and technical instruction, involving demonstrations of skills required in cosmetology, barbering, esthetics or manicure. Lecture on practices, methods, processes and terminology. Instruct students in subject areas such as safety precautions, use and maintenance of tools and equipment, and codes or regulations related to the trade. Plan and supervise work of students in training, and test and evaluate progress.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 313-A:9

Administrative Rules: Chapter Bar 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements

- High school graduate
- Must be currently licensed as a barber, cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician and have completed one of the following:
 - At least 800 hours of instructor training in a school for barbering and cosmetology, 700 hours of instructor training in a school for esthetics, or 550 hours of instructor training in a school for manicuring; or
 - 2. At least 12 months of actual employment in a shop and have completed 500 hours of instructor training in a school for barbering and cosmetology, 400 hours of instructor training in a school for esthetics, or 250 hours of instructor training in a school for manicuring; or
 - 3. Have at least eight years of actual employment in a shop

Examination

Written and practical examinations required

Continuing Education

Instructor license renewal requires continuing education of 28 hours per renewal period

Reciprocity

Permitted if the other state's requirements are substantially equivalent to or higher than those of New Hampshire

Active Licenses

347

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics

Office of Professional Licensing and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152 fax (603) 271-3950

web https://www.oplc.nh.gov/board-barbering-

cosmetology-and-esthetics>

contact Board Administrator

e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

Fees

Examination
Biennial renewal
Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month in
the even year next succeeding its date of issuance

O*Net Codes

25-1194.00 Vocational Education Teachers, Postsecondary

Additional Information Sources

DL Roope Administrations Inc. (exam administrator) <www.dlroope.com>

National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology www.nictesting.org

Related Training

Cosmetology, Barber/Styling, and Nail Instructor