
New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
38

Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

Child Care Program Lead Teacher
Child Care Program Lead Teachers provide a daily schedule of acti viti es for play, meals, sleep, and toileti ng, and are 
responsible for children in their care.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 170-E
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter He-C 4002

Regulatory Agency

Child Care Licensing Unit
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301-3857

phone 1-800-852-3345 ext. 9025; or (603) 271-9025
fax  (603) 271-4782
web <www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/cclu/>
contact Melissa Clement, Chief
e-mail mclement@dhhs.state.nh.us

Licensure Requirements
Child day care agencies (provider/
facility/program) must be licensed by 
the Child Care Licensing Unit under 
the New Hampshire Department of 
Health and Human Services

Licensure of individuals is not required. Credenti aling is voluntary.

•

• Lead Teachers must be at least 21 years of age, have a high school diploma or GED, have a minimum of 1,000
hours experience working with children in a licensed child care program, and meet one of the following pre-service
training/educati on opti ons:

1. College courses totaling 18 credits in early childhood educati on, with three credits in child growth and
development; or

2. Documentati on on fi le with the department that she or he was qualifi ed for the positi on of lead teacher on or
before the adopti on of these administrati ve rules in November 2008.

Fees

There is a $25.00 fee for applicati on for a voluntary credenti al, 
which is valid for three years. Fees vary at the community level.

Examinati on
No examinati on is required, however, 
CPR and fi rst aid certi fi cati on are required 

• For employment in a child care nursery,
group child care center, preschool
program, or school-age program, all
child care personnel must provide documentation of education and experience, with such documentation to be 
kept on file at the child care program

•
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Conti nuing Educati on
All center-based center directors, lead teachers, associate teachers, and family child care providers and workers 
shall complete 18 hours of training per calendar year in any of the following areas:

• Child development

• Health and safety, or life safety

• Children with special needs

• Nutriti on

• Any child care related courses sponsored or funded by the Department, including but not limited to child care
basics or beyond the basics

• Indoor and outdoor learning environments

• Behavior guidance

• Staff  supervision

• Leadership, child care administrati on, or mentoring in early childhood

• Financial management

• Working with families

• Legal issues in child care

• Child welfare

Child Care Program Lead Teacher (conti nued)

Additi onal Informati on Sources

Reciprocity
Not permitt ed

O*Net Codes

39-9011.00  Child Care Workers

Related Training
Child Care Provider/Assistant; Early 
Childhood Educati on and Teaching

NH Early Childhood Credenti al 
DHHS/DCYF/Child Development Bureau
<www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/cdb/profdev.htm>

Council for Professional Recogniti on (CDA)
<www.cdacouncil.org>

American Montessori Society
<www.amshq.org>

North American Montessori Teachers’ Associati on (NAMTA)
<www.montessori-namta.org>

Nati onal Head Start Associati on
<www.nhsa.org>

Acti ve Licenses
905 licensed center and home child care 
programs




