Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

Child Care Program Associate Teacher

Child Care Program Associate Teachers provide a daily schedule of activities for play, meals, sleep, and toileting, and
are responsible for children in their care.

Legislation Regulatory Agency

Statute: NH RSA 170-E

Administrative Rules: Chapter He-C 4002

Child Care Licensing Unit
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street

Licensure Requirements Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Child day care agencies (provider/
facility/program) must be licensed by phone 1-800-852-3345 ext. 9025; or (603) 271-9025
the Child Care Licensing Unit under fax (603) 271-4782
the New Hampshire Department of web  <www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/cclu/>
Health and Human Services contact Melissa Clement, Chief

e-mail mclement@dhhs.state.nh.us
For employment in a child care nursery,

group child care center, preschool

program, or school-age program, all

child care personnel must provide documentation of education and experience, with such documentation to
be kept on file at the child care program

Licensure of individuals is not required. Credentialing is voluntary.

Associate Teachers in group child care programs, child care nurseries, preschool programs, and center-based night
care programs shall be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma, and
have at least one of the following:

1. Nine college credits in early childhood education, including three credits in child growth and development;

2. A minimum of 1,500 hours of supervised experience in a licensed program or public or a private elementary
school with recommendation from the center director plus documentation of at least three credits in an early
childhood education course, and a written plan for completion of an additional six credits earned within a year
of employment.

3. A minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised child care experience in a licensed program and documentation of
successful completion of a two-year vocational child care course;

4. Written documentation on file with the department that she or he was qualified for the position of associate
teacher on or before the adoption of these administrative rules.

Child Care Assistants in group child care programs, child care nurseries, preschool programs, and center-based

night care programs shall:

1. Be at least 16 years of age

2. Work with children only under the direct supervision and observation of a staff person who meets at least the
minimum qualifications of an associate teacher
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Child Care Program Associate Teacher (continued)

* Family Child Care Providers, Workers, or Assistants

1. Family child care providers shall be at least 21 years of age. If between 18 and 21 years old, they must
submit documentation that they have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma and successfully
completed a two-year child care curriculum approved by the Department of Education or college courses
totalling six credits in human growth and development or early childhood education. New Hampshire residency
is required for a family child care provider

2. Family child care workers shall be 18 years of age or older

3. Family child care assistants shall be 16 years of age or older and shall work under the supervision of the family
child care provider or the family child care worker at all times

Eaaminatior e

No examination is required, however, CPR

and first aid certification are required There is a $25.00 fee for application for a voluntary credential,

which is valid for three years. Fees vary at the community level.

Continuing Education

All center-based center directors, lead teachers, associate teachers, and family child care providers and workers shall
complete 18 hours of training per calendar year in any of the following areas:

® Child development

* Health and safety, or life safety
® Children with special needs

* Nutrition

* Any child care related courses sponsored or funded by the Department, including but not limited to child care
basics or beyond the basics

* Indoor and outdoor learning environments

* Behavior guidance

* Staff supervision

* Leadership, child care administration, or mentoring in early childhood
* Financial management

*  Working with families

® Legalissues in child care

* Child welfare

Reciprocity
Not permitted

Active Licenses

905 licensed center and home child care programs
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Child Care Program Associate Teacher (continued)

Related Training O*Net Codes

Child Care Provider/Assistant 39-9011.00  Child Care Worker

Additional Information Sources

NH Early Childhood Credential
DHHS/DCYF/Child Development Bureau
<www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/cdb/profdev.htm>

Council for Professional Recognition (CDA)
<www.cdacouncil.org>

American Montessori Society
<www.amshq.org>

North American Montessori Teachers’ Association (NAMTA)
<www.montessori-namta.org>

National Head Start Association
<www.nhsa.org>
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