Bail Recovery Agent

A person who is offered or given any compensation for assisting a professional bondsman or surety in apprehending or surrendering any defendant, or keeping the defendant under necessary surveillance.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 106-F and RSA 597:7-b, I(b). Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 2200

Licensure Requirements

- Must be a resident of the United States
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Have no record of felony convictions of any type or conviction of a misdemeanor associated with theft, honesty, fraud, use or sale of controlled substances, misdemeanor crimes of violence that in the judgment of the commissioner

Regulatory Agency

Permits and Licensing Unit New Hampshire State Police 33 Hazen Drive, Room 106 Concord, New Hampshire 03305

phone	(603) 223-3873
fax	(603) 271-0306
web	<https: justice-<="" our-services="" td="" www.nhsp.dos.nh.gov=""></https:>
	information-bureau/permits-and-licensing>
contact	Lt. Victor G. Muzzey
email	permitsandlicensing@dos.nh.gov

of safety would cast doubt on the applicant's future good behavior, domestic violence, or abuse of any type, or an active domestic violence protective order in New Hampshire or any other jurisdiction in the United States, its possessions, or territories.

- Except for employees, possess:
 - 1. A minimum of four years of experience as a full-time law enforcement officer with a federal, state, county, college or university, or municipal police department, director of security or senior officer of a company or corporation, or licensed security service, full-time adjuster, risk manager, or claims investigator for an insurance carrier or adjusting company; or
 - 2. An associate of science degree or bachelor of science degree in criminal justice or fire service from an accredited college or university, certification from the American Society for Industrial Security as a certified professional investigator, or certification from the National Association of Legal Investigators as a certified legal investigator and employment as a full-time investigator for a private investigative agency for at least two years; or
 - 3. A minimum of four years employment as a full-time investigator for a licensed private investigator or private investigative agency; or
 - 4. A minimum of four years of experience as a full-time firefighter and certification by the International Association of Arson Investigators; or
 - 5. Certification by the American Society for Industrial Security in security operations, and two years of experience providing such services; or
 - 6. Certification by the American Society for Industrial Security in executive protection, and two years of experience providing such services.
- File a surety bond for \$50,000
- Two sets of fingerprints required for armed Bail Recovery Agent applicants
- Firearms qualification required for armed Bail Recovery Agents
- Provide documentation of qualifications
- Submit application in person

Bail Recovery Agent (continued)

In addition

- Possess liability insurance coverage in the amount of \$300,000 for bail recovery activities
- Must notify a municipality's chief law enforcement officer if the search is to be conducted in the municipality's jurisdiction
- Must be trained and certified through a program approved by the Professional Bail Agents of the United States or other training program approved by the commissioner of safety

Examination

Not specified

Continuing Education

Armed Bail Recovery Agents are required to meet minimum requirements in the use of firearms at least once per year including four hours of instruction in firearm techniques and safety. The commissioner of safety may adopt certain initial and continuing education requirements for licensed security guards, private investigators, and bail recovery agents, including but not limited to the statutory and case laws on the use of force, the laws of arrest by non-law enforcement personnel, and other issues relative to their respective occupations after consultation with the advisory board, and may certify individuals or entities including professional associations and employees of agencies deemed qualified to provide such training or education to licensees.

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

Not provided

Related Training

No related training

Fees

Private individual – initial/biennial renewal \$150.00		
Agency employing more than one person –		
initial/biennial renewal \$350.00		
Agency employee – initial/biennial renewal \$5.00		
Combined FBI and New Hampshire State Police Criminal		
Record Check - including fingerprints		
Background investigation		

Licenses are valid for two years following the data of issuance

O*Net Codes

33-9021.00 Private Detectives and Investigators

Additional Information Sources

Professional Bail Agents of the United States (PBUS) < www.pbus.com>