Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

Accountant, Certified Public

Audit, review or compile financial statements and prepare reports. The purpose of such an audit is to determine if the
records are kept in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. They also may be involved with a client
in preparing financial statements. Other work of accountants may include preparation of income tax forms, providing
tax advice, estate planning, reviewing accounting systems and internal controls, and other special assignments
requested by the client.

Legislation
Statute: NH RSA 309-B
Administrative Rules: Chapter Ac 100 - 500

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Office of Professional
Licensure and Certification

New Hampshire Board of Accountancy
121 South Fruit Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Certification Requirements
* Must be of good professional character

* A candidate for certification as a

CPA in the State of New Hampshire
must obtain 150 credits of education,
including a baccalaureate or higher
degree, which contains 30 hours of
accounting and 24 hours in business, all

phone (603) 271-2219

fax (603) 271-6990

web  <www.nh.gov/jtboard/boa.htm>
contact Kimberly Ware

e-mail kimberly.ware@nh.gov

earned from an accredited university or

college. The candidate may sit for the

CPA exam with 120 credits, including

a baccalaureate with an accounting

concentration or equivalent, but must obtain the 150 credits before applying for the certificate

* A candidate must have one full year of public accounting experience working under a Certified Public Accountant
or Public Accountant, in a public accounting firm, or in government with the completion of the 150 hours of
education credits.

* The public accounting and governmental experience may be earned in a foreign country if the candidate and the
experience meet the statutes and rules of this Board. Please contact Board staff for inquires.

Examination

Exams are computerized and given by CPA Exam Services, National Association of State Boards of Accountancy.
Candidates are strongly encouraged to take the exam tutorial and to read the information found in the “Candidate
Bulletin.” For exam and certification requirements, go to <www.nh.gov/jtboard/boa.htm>. For information on applying
for examination, determination of eligibility, exam site appointments, reporting of grades, and other exam procedures,
go to <www.nasba.org>, click on Exams, and then click on New Hampshire; contact CPA Exam Services at
1-800-272-3926; or questions may be e-mailed to cpaes-nh@nasba.org.

Triennial licensure, CPA registration. . . . . . . .. $275.00
Current examination fees may be found at
<www.nasba.org>. All exam fees are subject to change.

Continuing Education

For license renewal, a minimum of 120
hours of continuing education is required
every three years, including four hours
of ethics. A minimum of 20 hours of
continuing education must be obtained
by June 30th of each year.
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Accountant, Certified Public (continued)

Reciprocity

The Board may issue a certificate to any
person holding a CPA certificate in another
state provided the state has requirements
equivalent to those in New Hampshire.
Applicants who attended a foreign

college must obtain a foreign evaluation.
Information is available on the Board of
Accountancy web site.

Active Licenses
4,918

Related Training

Accounting; Auditing; Taxation; Accounting
and Finance; Accounting and Business
Management; Accounting and Computer
Science; Financial Forensics and Fraud
Investigation

O*Net Codes

13-2011.01  Accountants
13-2011.02  Auditors

Additional Information Sources

National Association of State Boards of Accountancy
<www.nasba.org>

New Hampshire Society of CPAs
<www.nhscpa.org>
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