Occupational Employment & Wage Statistics (OEWS) – A federal/state program that surveys establishments to produce data on current occupational employment and wages for all wage and salary workers. Employers participating in an OEWS survey provide the number of employees within their company, by occupation, broken out into twelve wage categories. Establishments or units of multiple establishments are usually included in the survey, at most, once every three years.

Occupational Employment Estimates – Estimates of the number of employees in particular occupations. Every OEWS survey respondent is classified by North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code and by size of establishment. Each firm's response is weighted and then scaled to represent all those firms in the state who fall into the same size and industry category. All industries are then combined to get an estimate of total employment in every OEWS category.

Labor Market Area – An area with a certain degree of social and economic integration as measured through commuting patterns. In New England these areas are typically made up of cities and towns.

New England City and Town Area (NECTA) – A geographic entity, created for statistical purposes, consisting of a city or town, or a group of cities and towns, associated with at least one core (urbanized area or urban cluster) of at least 10,000 population. These component cities and towns must be adjacent with one another and have a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured through commuting patterns. This is unique to the six New England states.

Metropolitan New England City and Town Area (Metro NECTA) – A Core Based Statistical Area associated with at least one urbanized area that has a population of at least 50,000. New Hampshire has four Metro NECTAs – one of which is entirely within New Hampshire's borders, and two contain portions of the neighboring state of Maine. The Boston-Cambridge-Quincy MA-NH Metro NECTA includes New Hampshire towns that are part of four NECTA divisions.

- Manchester NH Metro NECTA an urbanized area entirely within New Hampshire
- **Portsmouth NH-ME Metro NECTA** an area predominantly within New Hampshire, but includes the towns of Eliot, Kittery and York in Maine.
- **Dover-Durham, NH-ME Metro NECTA** an area predominantly within New Hampshire, but includes the towns of Lebanon, Berwick and South Berwick in Maine.
- **Boston-Cambridge-Quincy MA-NH Metro NECTA** an area predominately within Massachusetts which includes Boston and its suburbs. For most statistical purposes it is subdivided into its component NECTA Divisions, four of which include towns in New Hampshire.

New England City and Town Area (NECTA) Division – a NECTA Division is a city or town or a group of cities and towns with a high degree of social and economic integration which contains an urbanized area that has a population of at least 50,000 and is part of a large (population of at least 2.5 million) Metropolitan NECTA. New Hampshire has four NECTA Divisions under this standard, all of which contain portions of the neighboring state of Massachusetts. All are part of the Boston-Cambridge-Quincy MA-NH Metro NECTA. The four areas are:

- **Haverhill-Newburyport-Amesbury, MA-NH** an area predominantly within Massachusetts, but includes towns in the Hampstead-Seabrook area of New Hampshire
- Lawrence-Methuen-Salem MA-NH an area predominantly within Massachusetts, consisting entirely of the cities of Lawrence and Methuen and the town of North Andover in Massachusetts, and the town of Salem, New Hampshire.
- Lowell-Billerica-Chelmsford MA-NH an area predominately within Massachusetts, which includes the town of Pelham, New Hampshire
- **Nashua NH-MA** an area predominately within New Hampshire, which includes the towns of Townsend and Pepperell in Massachusetts

Micropolitan New England City and Town Area (Micro NECTA) – a Core Based Statistical Area associated with at least one urban cluster that has a population of at least 10,000, but less than 50,000. The Micropolitan area is a new concept under the new standard. New Hampshire has five Micro NECTAs. The Micro NECTAs are:

- Berlin NH Micro NECTA
- Concord NH Micro NECTA
- Keene NH Micro NECTA
- Laconia NH Micro NECTA
- Lebanon NH-VT Micro NECTA

Small Labor Market Area (LMA) – a grouping of towns that are economically interdependent, but do not meet the population or commuting thresholds for a Micro or Metro NECTA. New Hampshire has 16 LMAs – some of which are entirely within the state's borders, and others that contain portions of the neighboring states of either Maine or Vermont. These areas are:

- Belmont NH LMA
- Brattleboro VT-NH LMA
- Charleston NH LMA
- Claremont-Newport NH LMA
- Colebrook NH-VT LMA
- Conway NH-ME LMA
- Franklin NH LMA
- Haverhill NH LMA
- Hillsborough NH LMA
- Littleton NH LMA
- Meredith NH LMA
- New London NH LMA
- Peterborough NH LMA
- Plymouth NH LMA
- Raymond NH LMA
- Wolfeboro NH LMA

OEWS Wage Survey Areas – New Hampshire has 17 substate OEWS wage areas. These wage areas are based on the New Hampshire portions of the labor market areas. Three of these are the New Hampshire portions of Metro NECTAs. Four are the New Hampshire portions of NECTA Divisions. Three are small Labor Market Areas (LMAs) and the remainder are built by combining Micro NECTAs and LMAs. The areas are combined to increase the number of occupations for which employment and wage estimates will meet standards of reliability and to exhaust the geography of the state. The wage areas are:

- Claremont-Charlestown consists of the Claremont-Newport Micro NECTA and the Charlestown LMA
- **Greater Concord** consists of the Concord Micro NECTA and the New London, Franklin and Hillsborough LMAs
- **Conway-Wolfeboro** consists of the NH portion of the Conway NH-ME LMA and the Wolfeboro LMA
- **Dover-Durham** consists of the NH portion of the Dover-Durham NH-ME Metro NECTA
- Hampstead-Seabrook consists of the NH portion of the Haverhill MA-NH Metro NECTA
- Keene consists of the Keene Micro NECTA
- Laconia-Belmont consists of the Laconia Micro NECTA and the Belmont and Meredith LMAs
- Lebanon-Hanover consists of the NH portion of the Lebanon NH-VT Micro NECTA and the Haverhill NH LMA
- **Manchester** consists of the Manchester Metro NECTA
- **Nashua-Derry** consists of the NH portion of the Nashua NH-MA Metro NECTA Division
- **Northern NH** consists of the Berlin Micro NECTA, and consists of the NH portions of the Colebrook NH-VT, NH and the Littleton NH-VT LMA
- **Pelham** consists of the Pelham, NH portion of the Lowell MA-NH Metro NECTA Division
- **Peterborough** consists of the Peterborough LMA
- **Plymouth** consists of the Plymouth LMA
- **Portsmouth** consists of the NH portion of the Portsmouth NH-ME Metro NECTA
- **Raymond** consists of the Raymond LMA
- **Salem** consists of the Salem, NH portion of the Lawrence MA-NH Metro NECTA Division