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Weighmaster
A Weighmaster is an individual, who for hire or otherwise, weighs, measures or counts any commodity that may be 
transported by vehicle and issues a statement or memorandum of the weight, measure or count which is used as the 
basis for either the purchase or sale of that commodity or charge for service. Included is any person who performs 
such services as an independent contractor, a person who exercises independent employment, contracts or agrees to 
weigh, measure, or count any commodity and issues a statement or memorandum of the weight, measure, or count 
which is used as the basis for either the purchase or sale of that commodity or charge for service. 

Regulatory Agency

Division of Weights and Measures
New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets, and Food
PO Box 2042
Concord, New Hampshire 03302-2042

phone (603) 271-3700 
fax (603) 271-1109 
web <agriculture.nh.gov/divisions/weights-measures/
 weighmaster.htm>
contact Rebecca Malila, Director 
e-mail devices@agr.nh.gov 

Fees

O*Net Codes

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 438:8(e)
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Agr 1403

Licensure Requirements
• Must be at least within 30 days of being

18 years of age

• Submit applicati on, and applicati on fee

• Pass examinati on

• License expirati on:

1. The expirati on date for an initi al
weighmaster license is determined by:

a. If the applicant’s employer employs other licensed weighmasters, the applicant’s license expires
at the same ti me as the employer’s other employed

 
weighmasters

b. If the applicant’s employer does not employ other licensed weighmasters, the applicant’s license expires at
the end of the quarter with the fewest number of licensed weighmasters

2. An initi al weighmaster license may be issued for a period of not less than 15 months and not more than 27
months; aft er the initi al licensing period the weighmaster license expires biennially

3. A license issued for a period of less than 24 months will be charged a pro rated fee based on the initi al licensing
period

Examinati on fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $20.00
Initi al license fee, 24 months   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  Call for informati on
Re-examinati on fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $20.00
Biennial renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $96.00

43-5111.00  Weighers, Measurers, Checkers, and 
Samplers, Recordkeeping

Examinati on
Required — must att ain a passing score of 
70 percent or higher. Licensed weighmasters 
must take a writt en examinati on every six 
years prior to license renewal.

Conti nuing Educati on
Not required

Reciprocity
Not permitt ed

Acti ve Licenses
1,033

• Must be a citizen or legal resident of the 
United States
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Weighmaster (conti nued)

Additi onal Informati on SourcesRelated Training
No related training

ATSM Internati onal (American Society for Testi ng and 
Measures)
<www.astm.org>

Weights and Measures Division
Nati onal Insti tute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
<www.nist.gov/pml/wmd/>




