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Speech-Language Specialist
Speech-Language Specialists screen, evaluate, diagnose, treat, and consult on disorders of communicati on. They 
identi fy, diagnose, and treat individuals who have communicati on disorders. This may include disorders of speech, 
arti culati on, fl uency, voice, verbal and writt en language, auditory comprehension, cogniti on communicati on and 
swallowing disorders. These specialists are professional employees of a school district and must be certi fi ed as 
educators.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 186
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Ed 507.23

Regulatory Agency

Bureau of Credenti aling
Division of Program Support
New Hampshire Department of Educati on
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-4196
fax (603) 271-4134
web <www.educati on.nh.gov/certi fi cati on/>
contact Virginia Cliff ord, Administrator
e-mail virginia.cliff ord@doe.nh.gov

Certi fi cati on Requirements
• Submit applicati on for certi fi cati on and

non-refundable applicati on fee

• Hold a Master’s degree in speech-
language pathology or communicati on
sciences and disorders from an approved
college or university

• Alternati ve methods of qualifi cati on for
certi fi cati on:

Alternati ve 1:  Completi on of an
approved program of 
professional preparati on in speech-language pathology or communicati on sciences and disorders

Alternati ve 2:  Completi on of a comparable program outside of New Hampshire

Alternati ve 4:  Individualized Professional Development Plan, which must include completi on of a Master’s degree 
in communicati ons disorders

• Any person licensed in the State of New Hampshire as a speech-language pathologist by the New Hampshire 
Speech-Language Pathology Governing Board shall be considered to have met the requirements

Examinati on
Initi al certi fi cati on requires passing the PRAXIS I pre-professional skills test (PPST) and PRAXIS II, if applicable. The 
State Board has approved a composite score opti on for PRAXIS I. Candidates must have an overall score of 518 or 
higher and a minimum passing score of 172 for Reading; 170 for Writi ng; and 170 for Mathemati cs. PRAXIS I and 
PRAXIS II exempti ons are allowed for educators with either a Master’s degree or higher, or who have seven or more 
years of educati onal experience under a credenti al issued by another state.

FeesConti nuing Educati on
Staff  development acti viti es totaling 
75 clock hours (or alternati ve to clock 
hours) in the school district and/or school 
administrati ve unit staff  development plan 
during the three-year certi fi cati on period 
plus another 30 hours for each additi onal 
endorsement

Three-year certi fi cate   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $130.00
Three-year renewal.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $130.00
Late fi ling fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $50.00
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Speech-Language Specialist (conti nued)

Reciprocity
Permitt ed with over 41 states according to 
the provisions of the Interstate Contract

Acti ve Licenses
Not provided

O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

29-1127.00  Speech-Language Pathologists

Related Training
Speech-Language Pathology/Pathologist; 
Audiology/Audiologist and Speech-Language 
Pathology/Pathologist; Communicati on 
Sciences and Disorders

American Speech-Language-Hearing Associati on
<www.asha.org>

Nati onal Council of State Boards of Examiners
 for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
<www.ncsb.info>




