Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

School Psychologist

School Psychologists provide psychological services and consultation to students, parents, and educators. They help
children and youth succeed academically, socially, and emotionally. They collaborate with educators, parents, and
other professionals to create safe, health, and supportive learning environments for all students that strengthen
connections between home and school.

Legislation Regulatory Agency

Statute: NH RSA 186

Administrative Rules: Chapter Ed 507.08 Bureau of Credentialing

Division of Program Support
. . New Hampshire Department of Education
Certification Requirements 101 Pleasant Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Meet educational requirements of:

e Completion of any state board of phone (603) 271-4196
education approved doctoral certificate fax (603) 271-4134
of advanced graduate study/specialist, web  <www.education.nh.gov/certification/>
or Master’s level program in school contact Virginia Clifford, Administrator
psychology; or e-mail virginia.clifford @doe.nh.gov

e Meet both of the following
qualifications:

1. Complete at least 60 semester hours of graduate study culminating in at least a Master’s degree, of which at
least 54 hours are exclusive of credit for the supervised internship experience; and

2. Experience in a supervised internship in a general school setting for 1,200 clock hours, full-time over one
year or half-time over two consecutive years. If additional experiences are provided in mental health clinics,
psychiatric hospitals, and other institutions for children, such experiences shall not replace the supervised
internship in a general school setting for more than 600 of the 1,200 hours.

Examination

Initial certification requires passing the PRAXIS | pre-professional skills test (PPST) and PRAXIS II, if applicable. The
State Board has approved a composite score option for PRAXIS I. Candidates must have an overall score of 518 or
higher and a minimum passing score of 172 for Reading; 170 for Writing; and 170 for Mathematics. PRAXIS | and
PRAXIS Il exemptions are allowed for educators with either a Master’s degree or higher, or who have seven or more
years of educational experience under a credential issued by another state.

Continuing Education  Fes

Staff development activities totaling Three-year certificate . . . . .............. $130.00
75 clock hours (or alternative to clock

Three-yearrenewal. . . . . .. ... ... ....... 130.00
hours) in the school district and/or school H >
administrative unit staff development plan
during the three-year certification period

Competency review and three-year certificate,
Alternative3. . . . . . . .. ... $300.00

Late filingfee . . . . . . . . ... ... ... ... $50.00

Exam fees are set by the exam administrator, Educational
Testing Service (ETS)
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School Psychologist (continued)

Reciprocity O*Net Codes

Permitted V-\ll.th over 41 states according 19-3031.01  School Psychologists
to the provisions of the Interstate
Contract

Active Licenses Additional Information Sources

Not provided
ETS-The Praxis Series

o <www.ets.org/praxis/nh/requirements>
Related Training g/praxis/nh/req

School Psychology; Clinical Child National Association of School Psychologists
Psychology <www. nasponline.org>

New Hampshire Association of School Psychologists
<www.nhaspweb.org>
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