Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

Private Investigator (Detective)

Private investigators conduct investigations involving, but not limited to, unsolved crimes; insurance; clandestine
surveillance; missing persons; lost, concealed, or stolen property; or escaped felons or wanted persons subject

to reward for capture. They collect information for a fee, hire, or reward, on the identity, conduct, movements,
whereabouts, affiliations, transactions, reputation, or character of any person, or otherwise do investigative work
for a private rather than a public interest.

Legislation Regulatory Agency

Statute: NH RSA 106-F

Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 2200 PRl el TeEssl Uil

New Hampshire State Police
33 Hazen Drive, Room 106

Licensure Requirements :
Concord, New Hampshire 03305

* Must be a resident of the United States

* Must be at least 18 years of age phone (603) 228-3873

fax (603) 271-0306

web  <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/ssb/
permitslicensing/>

contact Sgt. Sean Haggerty

e-mail permitsandlicensing@dos.nh.gov

* Have no record of felony convictions of
any type or conviction of a misdemeanor
associated with theft, honesty, fraud,
use or sale of controlled substances,
misdemeanor crimes of violence that
in the judgment of the Commissioner
of Safety would cast doubt on the
applicant’s future good behavior,
domestic violence, or abuse of any type, or an active domestic violence protective order in New Hampshire or
any other jurisdiction in the United States, its possessions, or territories

* Except for employees, possess:

1. A minimum of four years of experience as a full-time law enforcement officer with a federal, state, county,
college or university, or municipal police department, director of security or senior officer of a company or
corporation, or licensed security service, full-time adjuster, risk manager, or claims investigator for an insurance
carrier or adjusting company; or

2. An associate of science degree or bachelor of science degree in criminal justice or fire service from an
accredited college or university, certification from the American Society for Industrial Security as a certified
professional investigator, or certification from the National Association of Legal Investigators as a certified legal
investigator and employment as a full-time investigator for a private investigative agency for at least two years;
or

3. A minimum of four years of employment as a full-time investigator for a licensed private investigator or private
investigative agency; or

4. A minimum of four years of experience as a full-time firefighter and certification by the International Association
of Arson Investigators; or

5. Certification by the American Society for Industrial Security in security operations, and two years of experience
providing such services; or

6. Certification by the American Society for Industrial Security in executive protection, and two years of
experience providing such services
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Private Investigator (Detective)

¢ File a surety bond for $50,000

e Two sets of fingerprints required for armed private detective applicants

e Firearms qualification required for armed private investigators

e Provide documentation of qualifications

e Submit application in person

Examination

Not required

Continuing Education

Armed private detectives are required
to meet minimum requirements in the
use of firearms at least once per year
including four hours of instruction in
firearm techniques and safety

Reciprocity
Not permitted

Active Licenses

Self-employed: 114; Agency employees: 103

Related Training

Criminal Justice/ Police Science; Securities

Services Administration/Management

Private individual (biennial license) . . . . . . ... ... $150.00
Criminal backgroundcheck . . . .. ... ... ..... $25.00
Agency employing more than one person

(biennial license) . . . . . .. .. .. .. ... $500.00
Agency employee licensefee . . ... ... ... ..... $5.00

Background investigation fee (in addition to above). . . $10.00
FBI fingerprint check
(armed private detective applicants) . . . . ... .. $26.50

O*Net Codes

33-9021.00  Private Detectives and Investigators

Additional Information Sources

Not provided
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