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Plumber, Journeyman

Regulatory Agency

Plumbers assemble, install, and repair in buildings the pipes, fittings, fixtures and other apparatus of water and 
drainage systems for bringing in the water supply and removing liquid and water-carried wastes, according to 
specificati ons and plumbing codes. Plumbing applies to pipes within the foundati on wall of the building or within 
one length of pipe from the building. A Journeyman Plumber customarily performs the work of installing plumbing 
and drainage under the directi on of a Master Plumber.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 153:27 through 153:38 
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Saf-Mec 100-500 Mechanical Safety & Licensing Secti on

Bureau of Building Safety & Constructi on 
Division of Fire Safety 
New Hampshire Department of Safety
110 Smokey Bear Boulevard
Concord, New Hampshire 03305

phone (603) 223-4289
fax (603) 223-4294
web <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/fi resafety/building/
 mechanical/>
contact Chief Jeff rey Cyr 
e-mail jeff rey.cyr@dos.nh.gov

Licensure Requirements

• Complete a four-year
 
apprenti ceship

in plumbing (8,000 hours) and
receive a certific ate of completi on
from the organization conducti ng the
program; or

• Demonstrate proof of plumbing
licensure from another state

Examinati on
Writt en examinati on required

Conti nuing Educati on
A minimum of three hours per year of 
conti nuing educati on required for license 
renewal, totaling six hours of specifi ed 
training for each two-year licensing cycle 

Fees

Initi al license   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$190.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$180.00
Late fees .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $25.00 per month

Reciprocity
Applicants that can demonstrate proof 
of licensure or certification from another 
state and comply with all prerequisite 
experience and/or education are eligible 
for examination in this state

O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

47-2152.02  Plumbers

Related Training
Plumbing Technology/Plumber

Internati onal Code Council (ICC)
<www.iccsafe.org>

Acti ve Licenses
815

Upon completi on of applicati on
and payment of fee, be entitled to
examinati on, and if found qualified by
the majority of the Board members,
be licensed as a Journeyman Plumber

Must be at least 18 years of age•

•




