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Optometrist

Fees

Optometrists diagnose and treat opti cal defects, defi ciencies, deformiti es, or diseases of the human eye, or any visual 
or muscular anomaly of the visual system. They adapt or prescribe spectacle lenses, contact lenses, prisms, or ocular 
exercises for correcti on, relief, or aid of visual functi ons. Some are certi fi ed to prescribe, administer, or dispense 
pharmaceuti cal agents and therapeuti c contact lenses.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 327
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Opt 100 - 600

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Offi  ce of Professional 
Licensing and Certi fi cati on 
Board of Registrati on in Optometry
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2428
fax (603) 271-6702
web <www.nh.gov/optometry/>
contact Penny Taylor, Administrator 
e-mail penny.taylor@nh.gov

Licensure Requirements
• Must be over 18 years of age

• Good moral character

• Complete a minimum of two years at a
college of arts and sciences

• Graduate from an accredited college of
optometry, maintaining a minimum of
four years in optometric training

• Must pass the Nati onal Board
examinati ons

• Cardiopulmonary resuscitati on (CPR) certi fi cati on

• Optometrists seeking authorizati on to treat glaucoma must complete 40 hours of classroom educati on approved by
the board on topics related to glaucoma

• Lett ers of reference from two practi cing optometrists who know the applicant professionally

Examinati on
Writt en examinati ons required — Nati onal 
Board of Examiners in Optometry Exam 
Parts I, II, and III; and State examinati ons. 
An additi onal examinati on is required for 
optometrists seeking authorizati on to treat 
glaucoma.

Conti nuing Educati on
All TPA (Therapeutic Phamaceutical Agents) certified licensed optometrists shall complete a minimum of 50 credit 
hours of approved continuing education requirements every calendar year, at least 20 credit hours of which shall be 
in Class I, and the remainder of which shall be Class II. An optometrist with prescriptive authority to treat glaucoma 
shall complete ten of the required hours in glaucoma-specific education, with a minimum of seven hours in Class I, 
and the remainder in Class II. All non-TPA certified licensed optometrists shall complete 15 hours of Class I credits 
each calendar year.

Initi al applicati on (including state examinati on fee) .  .  .$300.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$300.00
Applicati on for TPA certi fi cati on .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00
License reinstatement  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$200.00
All fees are subject to change
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Optometrist (conti nued)

O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

Reciprocity
Not permitt ed

Acti ve Licenses
272

29-1041.00  Optometrists

Related Training
Optometry 

Nati onal Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO)
<www.optometry.org>

Associati on of Regulatory Boards of Optometry
<www.arbo.org>




