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Nursing Home Administrator

Regulatory Agency

Fees

O*Net Codes

Responsible for the general administrati on of a nursing home whether or not such individual has an ownership 
interest in such home. Administers fi scal operati ons, directs hiring and training of personnel, and negoti ates for 
improvement of and additi ons to buildings and equipment. Directs and coordinates acti viti es of medical, nursing, 
and administrati ve staff s and services. Develops policies and procedures for various establishment acti viti es. May 
represent establishment at community meeti ngs and promote programs through news media.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 151-A
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Nuh 100 - 500 New Hampshire Offi  ce of Professional 

Licensing and Certi fi cati on 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-4728
fax (603) 271-6702
web <www.nh.gov/nha/>
contact Penny Taylor, Administrator 
e-mail penny.taylor@nh.gov

Licensure Requirements
• Must be at least 21 years of age

• Provide evidence of citi zenship or legal
residence

• Bachelor’s degree, including a minimum
of 15 credits in core knowledge subjects

• One year of experience as an 
administrator-in-training (AIT) in a 
nursing home of at least 50 beds, or 
equivalent experience

• Provide evidence of professional ethics
Applicati on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$300.00
Temporary permit, including applicati on fee .  .  .  .  .  .  .$300.00
NAB examinati on 
 set by NAB/PES (Professional Examinati on Service)
State examinati on 

set by NAB/PES (Professional Examinati on Service) 
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $300.00
Reinstatement   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $300.00
All fees are subject to change

Reciprocity
Permitt ed with all states whose standards 
are equal to or higher than this state’s 
requirements, with payment of fee and 
passing examinati ons

Acti ve Licenses
177

11-9111.00  Medical and Health Services Managers

Additi onal Informati on Sources

Nati onal Associati on of Long Term Care Administrator Boards
<www.nabweb.org>

Examinati on
Writt en examinati ons required — both State 
and Nati onal

Conti nuing Educati on
40 clock hours of conti nuing educati on 
in subjects related to nursing home 
administrati on are required every two 
years. Licensees who have been licensed 
for a minimum for 15 consecuti ve years in 
New Hampshire, including the immediately 
preceding two-year registrati on, shall 
submit 30 clock hours of conti nuing 
educati on in subjects related to nursing 
home administrati on every two years.

Related Training
Hospital and Health Care Faciliti es Administrati on/Management; 
Long Term Care Administrati on/Management




