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Elevator or Accessibility Lift  Mechanic and Inspector
Construct, maintain, or repair elevators or accessibility lift s, which are inclined stairway chairlift s and inclined and 
verti cal wheelchair lift s, including gates, any doors, wells, enclosures, runway means and appurtenances required for 
operati on. Elevator inspectors inspect and test elevators and accessibility lift s.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 157-B
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Lab 1300

Regulatory Agency

Inspecti on Division
New Hampshire Department of Labor
95 Pleasant Street
Concord New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2584
fax (603) 271-2668
web <www.nh.gov/labor/inspecti on/elevators-lift s.htm>
contact Michele Small, Administrator
e-mail inspecti ondiv@dol.nh.gov

Licensure Requirements
Elevator Inspector or Accessibility Lift  
Inspector

• File applicati on

• Pass examinati on with a minimum
score of 70 percent

• If applicable, provide current qualifi ed
elevator inspector (QEI) certi fi cati on

• A minimum of two years’ experience
as an accessibility lift  mechanic is
required for an accessibility lift  inspector license

• A minimum of two years’ experience as an elevator mechanic is required for an elevator inspector license

• Inspectors with experience in excess of fi ve years within the state may be exempted from examinati on by the
commissioner

Elevator Mechanic

• File applicati on

• Pass examinati on with a minimum score of 70 percent

• Have a minimum of two years’ experience, with an average of 1,800 hours annually, as an elevator mechanic’s
helper or apprenti ce, working in New Hampshire directly under a licensed elevator mechanic; or

• Hold an elevator mechanic certificate or license of competency from another state for three consecuti ve years,
working as an elevator mechanic, with an average of 1,800 hours each year over the three-year period

Accessibility Lift  Mechanic

• File applicati on

• Pass examinati on specifi c to technical knowledge on accessibility lift s with a minimum score of 70 percent

• Have a minimum of two years’ experience, with an average of 1,800 hours annually, as an accessibility lift
mechanic’s helper or apprentice, working in New Hampshire directly under a licensed accessibility lift mechanic; or

• Hold an accessibility lift  mechanic certificate or license of competency from another state for three consecuti ve
years, working as an accessibility lift mechanic, with an average of 1,800 hours each year over the three-year
period
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Examinati on
Writt en and oral examinati ons required

Conti nuing Educati on
Not required

Elevator or Accessibility Lift  Mechanic and Inspector (conti nued)

Fees

O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

Initi al applicati on fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $50.00
Biennial renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $35.00
Reinstatement fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00

Reciprocity
Anyone holding a certificate or 
license of competency as an elevator 
mechanic or accessibility lift 
mechanic issued by another state 
may, upon approval of a completed 
applicati on, be issued a license 
without examinati on with payment 
of a $35.00 fee, provided licencees of 
New Hampshire are not subject to 
greater requirements in that state 
than in New Hampshire

Acti ve Licenses
Not provided

47-4021.00  Elevator Installers and Repairers

Related Training
Industrial Mechanics and Maintenance 
Technology

NASEA Internati onal
<www.naesai.org>

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
<www.asme.org>




