Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

Driver Education Instructor, Public or Commercial Motor Vehicle Schools

Successfully instruct students to safely operate a motor vehicle in various traffic environments and conditions. Attain
student familiarity and understanding of laws, rules and regulations and the natural laws and limitations that foster
their development. Work towards a socially responsible vehicle operator, who minimizes risk factors through positive
decision making. Use the latest best practices in instruction to obtain objectives from a clearly defined curriculum.
Employ a variety of instructional techniques in the classroom and in-vehicle to ensure student comprehension and
success. Support an understanding of attitude and health-related issues on the thought and driving process and
obtaining competence in safely operating a motor vehicle.

Legislation Regulatory Agency

Statutes: NH RSA 21-P:14,l(a)-(h) and 263:45

Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 3100 Driver Education Office
Division of Motor Vehicles

New Hampshire Department of Safety

Certification Requirements 23 Hazen Drive
Provisional Certificate (valid two years) Concord, New Hampshire 03305
* High school graduate or high school

equivalency phone (603) 271-4075

fax (603) 271-0307

web <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/driver-licensing/
education-training/instructor.htm>

contact Russ Bailey, Supervisor

e-mail russell.bailey@dos.nh.gov

* Complete three, three-credit courses at
Keene State College with a grade of 75
or higher: Introduction to Traffic Safety,
Methods of Teaching Driver Education
and Traffic Safety, In-Vehicle Driver
Education Methods

* Valid driver’s license for the class of
vehicle in which applicant desires to instruct

* A minimum of five consecutive years of licensed driving experience
* Must be of good character, reputation, and fitness to instruct driver education
® Current physical exam, repeated every three years

* Submit a notarized criminal history record release form and a complete set of fingerprints

Standard Certificate (valid three years)
1. Meet the standards for a provisional secondary school certificate (above)

2. Complete a supervised teaching experience in New Hampshire during the past two years including a minimum
of 60 hours of classroom and 240 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction

3. Obtain eight credits of college-level courses designed to meet competencies in Saf-C 3103.05 e—f with a grade
of 75 or higher

* Commercial Motor Vehicle School Certificate
°  Provisional Certificate (valid two years)
1. High school diploma or equivalent

2. Complete a minimum of eight credits in courses designed to meet competencies in Saf-C 3103.05 a—d with
a grade of 75 or higher (college level courses)

° Standard Certificate (valid three years)
1. Meet the standards for a provisional commercial school certificate (above)

2. Complete a supervised teaching experience in New Hampshire during the past two years including a
minimum of 60 hours of classroom and 240 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction

3. Obtain eight credits of college-level courses designed to meet competencies in Saf-C 3103 e—f with a grade
of 75 or higher
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Driver Education Instructor, Public or Commercial Motor Vehicle Schools (Continued)

* Certification Competencies (Saf-C 3103.05 a - d)

° Standard A
The program shall provide the student with knowledge of the basic elements of driver and traffic safety
education, including:

. Theories of accident causation;

. Interpretation of the elements of the Highway Transportation System;

1

2

3. Components of the driving task;

4. Psychological and physiological factors affecting driver behavior; and
5

. Laws and rules that regulate motor vehicle operation

° Standard B
The program shall provide teacher candidates with experiences which expand skills in operating motor
vehicles under normal and adverse weather conditions

° Standard C
The program shall provide supervised, professional teacher experiences

° Standard D
The program shall provide the student with knowledge of the organization and management of a driver and
traffic safety education program

° Standard E
The program shall provide the student with knowledge of:

1. Processes of human growth, development, and learning including the characteristics of particular age
groups such as adolescents or adults;

2. Skills used in recognizing, analyzing, evaluating, and employing specific teaching and diagnostic techniques
and instructional materials appropriate to the classroom and behind-the-wheel environments; and

3. Skills needed to work effectively with educationally or physically handicapped students in the regular
classroom

° Standard F
The program shall provide the student with knowledge of the effects of alcohol and other drug use,
particularly as they relate to decision-making and driving behaviors

Physical exam; written exam on traffic and o o
driver education regulations; and road test Provisional certification . . . ... ... ... ...... $25.00
on driving skills are all required Standard certification . . . . . . . . .. ... ... ... $40.00

Continuing Education

Professional growth activities totaling O*Net Codes
75 hours

25-2031.00 Secondary School Teacher,

Reciprocity Except Special and Vocational Education
Yes, provided applicant has required courses 25-3021.00  Self-Enrichment Education Teachers
and credits

Active Licenses

260 secondary and commercial instructors Additional Information Sources

American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association

Related Traini ng <www.adtsea.org/adtsea/>

Driver and Safety Teacher Education
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