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Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

Barber
Barbers cut, trim, and style hair or beards. Many off er other services such as hair and scalp treatments, face massages, 
shaves, and shampoos. They must keep their scissors, combs, and other instruments clean and in good conditi on, and 
also maintain a clean work area. Those who own or manage a shop also order supplies, pay bills, keep records, and 
hire workers.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 313-A:10
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Bar 100 - 500

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Offi  ce of Professional 
Licensure and Certi fi cati on 
Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Estheti cs
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-3608
fax (603) 271-8889
web <www.nh.gov/cosmet/>
contact Kathryn Wantuck, Executi ve Director
e-mail Not provided

Licensure Requirements
• Must be of good professional character

• Complete the fourth year of high school 
or its equivalent

• Receive training of: a minimum of 
800 hours of training in a school of 
barbering licensed by the Board; or a 
minimum of 1,600 hours distributed 
over a period of at least 12 months 
under a licensed barber who has 
engaged in the practi ce of barbering 
within the state for at least two years

• Pass an examinati on conducted by the 
Board

• Pay a fee established by the Board

Fees

Examinati on
Writt en and practi cal examinati on required

Conti nuing Educati on
Not required

Apprenti ce registrati on.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00
Biennial apprenti ce renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $85.00
Examinati on .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $184.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $40.00
Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month in 
the odd year next succeeding its date of issuance

Reciprocity
Permitt ed if the other state’s licensing 
requirements are substanti ally equivalent 
to or higher than those of New Hampshire

Acti ve Licenses
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O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

39-5011.00 Barber

Related Training
Barbering/Barber

DL Roope Administrati ons Inc. (exam administrator)
<dlroope.com>

Nati onal-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology
<www.nictesti ng.org>


