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School Social Worker
School Social Workers diagnose student problems and arrange needed services, counsel children in trouble and 
help integrate disabled children into the general school populati on. Deal with problems such as student pregnancy, 
misbehavior in class, excessive absences and advise teachers on how to deal with problem students.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 186
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Ed 507.14

Regulatory Agency

Bureau of Credenti aling
Division of Program Support
New Hampshire Department of Educati on
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-4196
fax (603) 271-4134
web <www.educati on.nh.gov/certi fi cati on/>
contact Virginia Cliff ord, Administrator
e-mail virginia.cliff ord@doe.nh.gov

Fees

O*Net Codes

Licensure Requirements
• Submit applicati on for certi fi cati on and

non-refundable applicati on fee

• Master’s level specialist program in
social work and meet school social work
competencies

• Alternati ve methods of qualifi cati on for
certi fi cati on:

Alternati ve 1:  Completi on of an
approved program of 
professional preparati on in social work

Alternati ve 2:  Completi on of a comparable program outside of New Hampshire

Three-year certi fi cate   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $130.00
Three-year renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $130.00

Late fi ling fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $50.00
Exam fees are set by the exam administrator, Educati onal Testi ng 
Service (ETS)

Reciprocity
Permitt ed with over 41 states according to 
the provisions of the Interstate Contract

Acti ve Licenses
Not provided

21-1021.00  Child, Family, and School Social Workers

Examinati on
Initi al certi fi cati on requires passing the PRAXIS I pre-professional skills test (PPST) and PRAXIS II, if applicable. The State 
Board has approved a composite score opti on for PRAXIS I. Candidates must have an overall score of 518 or higher and a 
minimum passing score of 172 for Reading; 170 for Writi ng; and 170 for Mathemati cs. PRAXIS I and PRAXIS II exempti ons 
are allowed for educators with either a Master’s degree or higher, or who have seven or more years of educati onal 
experience under a credenti al issued by another state.

Conti nuing Educati on
Staff  development acti viti es totaling 75 clock 
hours (or alternati ve to clock hours) in the 
school district and/or school administrati ve 
unit staff  development plan during the three-
year certi fi cati on period
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School Social Worker (conti nued)

Additi onal Informati on SourcesRelated Training
Social Work; Youth Services/Administrati on

ETS-The Praxis Series
<www.ets.org/praxis/nh/requirementsl>

School Social Work Associati on of America
<www.sswaa.org>




