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Real Estate Appraiser
Appraise improved or unimproved real property to determine value for purchase, sale, investment, mortgage, or loan 
purposes. Develop a writt en appraisal, giving an opinion of the value of a property by applying knowledge of relevant 
market informati on (locati on, depreciati on, value of similar property, income potenti al, etc.). There are four classes: 
Apprenti ce Appraiser; Licensed Residenti al Appraiser; Certi fi ed Residenti al Appraiser, and Certi fi ed General Appraiser.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 310-B
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Rab 100 - 500

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Offi  ce of Professional 
Licensure and Certi fi cati on
New Hampshire Real Estate Appraiser Board
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301-2412

phone     (603) 271-0203
fax           (603) 271-7029
web         <www.nh.gov/jtboard/reab.htm> 
contact   Bobbie Carter, Program Specialist II 
e-mail     bobbie.carter@nh.gov

Certi fi cati on or Licensure 
Requirements
NOTE: The requirements listed below 
are based on administrati ve rule changes 
eff ecti ve January 1, 2015. All requirements 
are subject to change.

Apprenti ce Appraiser

• Submit applicati on and applicati on fee

• Complete a minimum of 75 hours of qualifying coursework in a classroom setti  ng within the fi ve-year period prior
to the date of submission of applicati on. A specifi c list of approved courses can be found in Rab 302.9 (d).

• Must be supervised by a New Hampshire certified appraiser in good standing for the preceeding three years in
any jurisdiction in which he or she holds licensure or certification, with a minimum of three years as a certifi ed
appraiser, with whom the apprentice may gain experience hours

• Complete a trainee appraiser course that outlines the qualifi cati ons and responsibiliti es of a trainee; the
supervisory appraiser must complete a course that outlines the qualifi cati ons and responsibiliti es of a supervisor

• An affi  davit signed by the apprenti ce’s supervisor and notarized

• The apprenti ce must maintain an on-going log of experience hours which must be signed by the apprenti ce’s
supervisor on a monthly basis

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinti ng

Licensed Residenti al Appraiser

• Submit applicati on and applicati on fee

• Complete a minimum of 150 hours of qualifying coursework in a classroom se tti ng, over half of which was obtained
within the last ten years. A specific list of approved courses can be found in Rab 302.9 (f).

• 2,000 hours of work experience obtained in no less than 18 months, with at least 25 percent of the experience
requirement met within the three years prior to application submission

• In additi on to the above coursework, complete 30 semester hours of college-level educati on or att ain an
Associate’s degree

• Pass examinati on

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinti ng

• Board review of three appraisals, selected by the Board
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Real Estate Appraiser (conti nued)

Certi fi ed Residenti al Appraiser

• Submit applicati on and applicati on fee

• Postsecondary educati on of a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university
• In addition to the degree, complete a minimum of 200 hours of qualifying coursework in a classroom setting, over

half of which was obtained within the last ten years. A list of approved courses can be found in Rab 302.09 (g).
• 2,500 hours of work experience obtained in no less than 24 months, with at least 25 percent of the

experience requirement met within the three years prior to application submission

• Board review of three appraisals, selected by the Board

• Pass examinati on

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinti ng

Certi fi ed General Appraiser

• Submit applicati on and applicati on fee

• Postsecondary educati on of a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university
• In addition to the degree, complete a minimum of 300 hours of qualifying coursework in a classroom setting, over

half of which was obtained within the last ten years. A list of approved courses can be found in Rab 302.09 (h).
• 3,000 hours of work experience, including at least 1,500 hours of non-residenti al appraisal work, which must be

obtained in no less than 30 months

• Board review of three appraisals, selected by the Board

• Pass examinati on

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinti ng

FeesExaminati on
Required, aft er completi ng initi al applicati on 
and educati onal requirements. Testi ng is 
held every week.

Conti nuing Educati on
14 hours of instructi on per year in approved 
courses. In a two-year period, seven hours 
of instructi on must be in USPAP. Up to one-
half of the hours may be obtained through 
distance learning.

Applicati on fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$150.00
Certificate/License  .  .  .  .  .  .  $400.00, renewable biennially

Apprenti ce fee   .  .  $150.00 for one year, renewable annually

Reciprocity
An applicant who is licensed or certi fi ed 
under the laws of another state and whose 
license or certificate is in good standing 
may obtain a license or certification as a 
licensed or certified real estate appraiser 
in New Hampshire

O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

Acti ve Licenses
779

13-2021.00  Appraisers, Real Estate

Related Training
Real Estate

The Appraisal Foundati on
<www.appraisalfoundati on.org>




