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Heati ng Equipment Technician
Heati ng Equipment Technicians install, service, or repair residenti al or non-residenti al heati ng equipment systems, 
water heati ng systems, or appliances using heati ng oil. 

NOTE: This certi fi cati on is voluntary, and not required by law. The regulati on for Oil Heati ng Technician does not 
include Fuel Gas Fitt ers.

Legislati on
Statute: NH RSA 153:16-b
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Saf-Mec 
100-500

Regulatory Agency

Mechanical Safety & Licensing Secti on
Bureau of Building Safety & Constructi on 
Division of Fire Safety 
New Hampshire Department of Safety
110 Smokey Bear Boulevard
Concord, New Hampshire 03305

phone (603) 223-4289
fax (603) 223-4294
web <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/fi resafety/building/>
contact Chief Jeff rey Cyr 
e-mail jeff rey.cyr@dos.nh.gov

Certi fi cati on Requirements

• Heati ng Equipment Installati on 
Certificate, Heati ng Oil Endorsement

1. Provide a signed affi  davit by
the employer documenti ng
4,000 hours of appropriate fi eld
experience

2. One of the following valid
certi fi cates:

  Nati onal Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Silver Certi fi cate

  Nati onal Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Gold Certi fi cate

  North American Technician Excellence (NATE) modules including both Oil Heati ng Installati on and Oil

1. Provide a signed affi  davit by the employer documenti ng 4,000 hours of appropriate fi eld experience

2. One of the following valid certi fi cates:

  Nati onal Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Silver Certi fi cate

  Nati onal Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA) Gold Certi fi cate

  North American Technician Excellence (NATE) modules including both Oil Heati ng Installati on and Oil
Heati ng Service Technician

• Submit applicati on and pay fee

Fees

Initi al certi fi cate   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00
Renewal certi fi cate .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00
Late renewal fee (31 days and over)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $15.00
All certi fi cates expire on the last day of the month, two years 
from the date of issuance

Examinati on
As required for NORA or NATE certi fi cati on

Conti nuing Educati on
As required for NORA or NATE certi fi cati on

• Heati ng Equipment Service Technician Certificate, Heating Oil Endorsement

Heati ng Service Technician
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Heati ng Equipment Technician (conti nued)

Reciprocity
A certificate may be issued to an applicant 
who presents evidence of being authorized 
to perform these duti es by another state, 
jurisdicti on, or country that maintains 
professional standards equivalent 
to or higher than those of this state. 
Applicants must submit an applicati on 
form, documentation of 4,000 hours of 
field experience, copies of the certificate 
issued by another state, jurisdicti on, or 
country, and documentati on of 
professional standards required by the 
other state, jurisdicti on, or country, and 
pay the applicable licensing fee.

Acti ve Licenses
500

O*Net Codes

Additi onal Informati on Sources

49-9021.01 Heati ng and Air Conditi oning 
Mechanics and Installers

Related Training
Heati ng, Air Conditi oning, Venti lati on, and 
Refrigerati on Maintenance Technology/
Technician

Nati onal Oil Heat Research Alliance (NORA)
<www.nora-oilheat.org>

North American Technician Excellence (NATE)
<www.natex.org>




