Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2015

Child Care Program Center Director

Child Care Center Directors direct the activities of child development facilities to provide instruction and care for
children. Prepare budgets, authorize purchase of materials, interview and recommend hiring of staff, and other
administrative duties. Maintain a safe and healthy learning environment.

Legislation Regulatory Agency

Statute: NH RSA 170-E

Administrative Rules: Chapter He-C 4002 Child Care Licensing Unit
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

129 Pleasant Street

Licensure Requirements Concord, New Hampshire 03301
e Child day care agencies (provider/
facility/program) must be licensed by phone 1-800-852-3345 ext. 9025; or (603) 271-9025
the Child Care Licensing Unit under the fax (603) 271-4782
New Hampshire Department of Health web  <www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/cclu/>
and Human Services contact Melissa Clement, Chief

e-mail mclement@dhhs.state.nh.us
e For employment in a child care nursery,

group child care center, preschool

program, or school-age program, all

child care personnel must provide documentation of education and experience, with such documentation to be
kept on file at the child care program

Licensure of individuals is not required. Credentialing is voluntary.

® (Center Directors in a group child care program, child care nursery, preschool program, or center-based night
care program must be at least 21 years of age, have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma,
documentation of at least three credits in child care administration or early childhood leadership, a minimum of
1,500 hours of experience working with children in a licensed program or public or private elementary school and
at least one of the following qualifications:

1. A minimum of an Associate’s degree in early childhood education;

2. An additional 3,000 hours of experience working with children in a licensed program or in a public or private
school and documentation of a current Child Development Associates (CDA) credential in center-based infant/
toddler or preschool programs;

3. A Bachelor’s degree in elementary education;
4. Certification as a Montessori Director from the American or International Montessori Institute;

5. College courses totaling 60 credits, including a minimum of 24 credits in early childhood education, with at
least three credits in children with special needs, child growth and development, and curriculum for early
childhood education; or

6. Written documentation on file with the department that she or he was qualified for the position of director on
or before the effective date of these administrative rules.
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Child Care Program Center Director (continued)

* School Age Program Site Directors in a school-age program must be at least 20 years of age, have a high
school diploma or general equivalency diploma, and have at least one of the following qualifications:

1. A Bachelor’s degree in elementary education or recreation, awarded by a regionally accredited college or
university;

2. An Associate’s degree in early childhood education, awarded by a regionally accredited college or university;

3. Certification of successful completion of training as a recreation director plus 1,000 hours of experience working
with children in a licensed child care program, recreation program or elementary school;

4. Atotal of 12 credits in early childhood education, human growth and development, education, or recreation
from a regionally accredited college, plus 1,000 hours of experience working with children;

5. Current certification as an educator by the New Hampshire Department of Education;
6. Experience working with children totalling 2,000 hours and the following:

a. Documentation of enrollment in a course for at least three credits in elementary education, human growth
and development, recreation, or early childhood education through a regionally accredited college or
university and a written plan on file for completion of at least three additional credits as specified; and

b. Within 12 months of the date the individual begins working as a site director, documentation of successful
completion of a total of at least six credits as specified in (a) shall be on file for review by the department; or

7. Written documentation from or filed with the department that she or he was qualified as a center director in a
school-age program on or before the effective date of these administrative rules.

No examination is required, however, CPR

and first aid certification are required There is a $25.00 fee for application for a voluntary credential,

which is valid for three years. Fees vary at the community level.

Continuing Education

All center-based center directors, lead teachers, associate teachers, and family child care providers and workers shall
complete 18 hours of training per calendar year in any of the following areas:

® Child development

* Health and safety, or life safety
® Children with special needs

* Nutrition

* Any child care related courses sponsored or funded by the Department, including but not limited to child care
basics or beyond the basics

* Indoor and outdoor learning environments

* Behavior guidance

* Staff supervision

* Leadership, child care administration, or mentoring in early childhood
* Financial management

*  Working with families

® Legal issues in child care

* Child welfare
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Child Care Program Center Director (continued)

Reciprocity O*Net Codes

Not permitted 11-9031.00 Education Administrators,
Preschool and Child Care Center/Program

Active Licenses

905 licensed center and home child care
programs

Additional Information Sources

_ ' NH Early Childhood Credential
Child Care and Support Services DHHS/DCYF/Child Development Bureau

Management; Early Childhood Education <www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/cdb/profdev.htm>
and Teaching

Related Training

Council for Professional Recognition (CDA)
<www.cdacouncil.org>

American Montessori Society
<www.amshq.org>

North American Montessori Teachers’ Association (NAMTA)
<www.montessori-namta.org>

National Head Start Association
<www.nhsa.org>
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